the reality of death.

So I think that it is pretty sad that my first official blog entry is about death, but what can I say, it has been on my mind.  Everyone has heard about the unfortunate plane crash that happened last week, but does anyone know about the death of a Muslim woman, Aasiya, last Thursday?  In short, Aasiya was brutally murdered by her husband in their family’s radio studio right down the street from where I live. But this woman wasn’t just any women, she used to own the 7-11 near my house, which my mom and I were frequent customers of for their coffee.  We spent so much time talking with her and her absolutely beautiful children.  She was no doubt one of the kindest women that I have ever met with the sweetest children you could ever hope to meet.  When I heard that her husband brutally murdered her, I literally sat in my car with my mouth open staring into space.  Shock would be the closest thing to describe my state, but somehow doesn’t speak for the true intensity of it. My first thoughts, how could someone do that to the person that they committed to love for their entire life!? Although they were getting a divorce, what could seriously be going on in a person’s head to give them the realistic thought to kill someone…I just don’t get it!

Yesterday, on the way to Holiday Valley to do some snowboarding, I was admiring the beautiful scenery that God had made for us to enjoy and it hit me out of no where..Aasiya was Muslim, not Christian, therefore not saved, therefore, this kind woman who had her life taken from her was quite possibly in Hell.  This epiphany made me rethink my whole concept of Heaven and Hell.  Now, I still believe that there are such places, obviously, because we need the saving Grace of Jesus Christ to redeem us and allow us to enter Heaven, but how can such a kind person go to Hell?  Its like the Catholic belief that all you have to do is be good to go to Heaven, your good actions will make up for the wrongs that you do and your sinful nature.  But I don’t believe that…I never have…so now in the midst of this horrible situation, I have such a hard time accepting that Aasiya is in Hell.  I’m in a place of contradicting thoughts, on one side I firmly and unchangingly believe that we all need Jesus Christ’s for our salvation, but on the other hand, how can genuinely good people go to such a horrid and evil place as Hell?  What if they never had the opportunity to be saved? Or what if they were brought up with another religion that was forced upon them? So then to bring the issue home…how far as a Christian do I go to witness to those around me.  The Bible teaches us to love one another and accept one another, but how can we let those we love and care for continue to live lives without Christ? How do we balance loving acceptance with the saving message of Jesus Christ? 

Wow, there is so much here to think about and so much to really take into consideration.  What do you guys think about all of this?  What have you adopted as your “balancing plan”, if you have one?

6 thoughts on “the reality of death.

  1. I understand what you are saying and the way i balance is to think of it as if you have two people who speak different languages and they are trying to say the same thing to each other, however neither person is able to speak the others language. This has taken me years of going through Catholic schools my whole life and learning about my religion as well as the realigions of many others to come to this conclusion.

    so that being said i believe that Aasiya is in heaven because her Allah is just a different language for our God.

    • thats a nice belief Ben. I don’t know if it’s in accordance with the differences in religions, but then again what do these religions really do to try and understand each other?

      • Good point Steve. I think that Ben and I speak from a Christian perspective. It is extremely important to consider other religions views of the afterlife, I definitly agree with that statement. But being Christian, I was seeing her death from my own personal belief system and how that would impact her life/death.

  2. Wow. What a tough reality and a terrible story. It’s interesting how we can believe something so easily in theory but then when the reality of it hits it’s not so easy. It really does make me think about how important witnessing and being sure not to overlook the gospel message when we feel like people are great people.

    Here are a couple of thoughts. The first two paragraphs are a couple of stories or ideas from some other people, and then the rest is my take:

    It’s great when people are nice, but it’s not the most important thing. Bill Hybels, a pastor in Chicago once told one of his friends who was an awesome guy but was unsaved that “he was playing for the right team but had the wrong jersey on.” I think that’s an interesting way to put it, so long as it’s made clear how important having that wrong jersey on is.

    C.S. Lewis, in the end of the Chronicles of Narnia, has Asland accepting good but misguided people because, basically, they “meant to be serving him,” the true king. So because they thought they were doing the best thing, God understands that and takes all the praise they gave to their wrong God and kind of assumes it was meant for Him. It’s interesting, and God may be merciful enough to do that, but that theory doesn’t seem to be supported biblically. This is one of the more controversial views of Lewis, and though I’d like to believe it, it just doesn’t seem to be the way things will be.

    I think the bottom line of the truth is that Jesus is the only way to heaven. By saying that we can serve and praise any god and still be saved seems to negate the necessity of the cross. It seems pointless to send mission trips out over seas and to evangelize if these people are worshipping a God that “works just as well” as Jesus in terms of entering into heaven.

    It might also be good to think about Saul here too. He was not a sinful man all around, he was actually very pious, adhering more strictly than almost anyone else to the laws. But God clearly showed that his zeal was very misguided and that he needed Jesus to be on the right path.

    So unfortunately, Aasiya’s death is one that we don’t have the ability to fully comprehend, but I think it’s clear that the Bible would say she is not a sinner saved by grace. Remember, God is not unjust in sending all of us to hell. We all deserve it. Even the best of us. By sending us to hell, he would actually doing what is fair. But Jesus has changed that for us, and whether we accept his sacrifice or not is the defining factor, not whether we think it is fair or not.

    I really appreciate your blog, it was very thought-provoking. What a tragic story.

  3. but catholics need absolution from their sins before they can go to heaven… Have you looked into any research on the mind and brain? Maybe current science on the function of the brain could help you understand how people get into these states of mind. Remember step outside your experiences and use reason and sense, the answers are usually disappointing but only because we had unfounded beliefs on how things should be. It’s truly sad how a religion can pronounce women to be worth killing. Killing usually results from people with false expectations about the world and then not being mature(as in not self centered) enough to think about why their view of the world was wrong.

Leave a Reply

