build me up.

“Now these are the gifts Christ gave to the church: the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, and the pastors and teachers.  Their responsibility is to equip God’s people to do his work and build up the church, the body of Christ. This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ.”

Ephesians 4:11-13

I struggle daily with feeling unworthy.  As if what I have to offer isn’t good enough, or that what I have to offer somehow isn’t as important as what other people offer. 

My devotions today pointed me to this chapter in Ephesians.  I love how you can read the same verse over and over and over again, and yet each time God shows you something a little different.  I had always read this as…”there are great people leading the church and they’ll help you be a great person too.”  But this time I saw something new.  I realized that what Paul is saying here is that we all are given great spiritual gifts from God.  We are all blessed with the ability to do one thing in a way that other people can’t.  It is through the union of all of our spiritual gifts that we are able to fully reach the spiritual heights that God wants us to reach.  The great thing is, that we can’t do it on our own…we each hold the pieces that fit together to create the beautiful picture that God wants to create.  

I shouldn’t feel unworthy or not good enough or even unimportant.  What I am good at is essential to Christ’s Kingdom.  Without me, a major piece is missing.  Without you, a major piece is missing.  We are called to use our gifts to build each other up and to reach our full potential.

What are your spiritual gifts?  How are you using it to build up His Kingdom?

Leave a Reply

